‘Song of Ripeness’ by Jose Garcia Villa: A translation to Davao Filipino

Awit ng Kahinog

Hinog na ang butong
parang utong sa lubi.
(Dalawa lang ang utong ng babae
maraming buhay-babae sa lubi.)
katagalan magniyog ang butong, mabigat at puno:
mahulog sa puno, at magpulot ako isa… marami…
parang bata, sipsipin ko yang kanilang gata,
sipsipin ko sa mga niyog ang kanilang mga kinayod na awit:
makaalala ako ng maraming babae.
. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .
Maghalik ako ng butong kay utong siya ng babae

 

Song of Ripeness
by Jose Garcia Villa

The coconuts have ripened,
They are like nipples to the tree.
(A woman has only two nipples,
There are many women-lives in a coconut tree.)
Soon the coconuts will grow heavy and full:
I shall pick up one…many…
Like a child I shall suck their milk,
I shall suck out of coconuts little white songs:
I shall be reminded of many women.
. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .
I shall kiss a coconut because it is the nipple of a
woman.

Leave a Reply

