My fireball lily blooms!

2016-05-29 17.38.14

After at least three years, one of my fireball lilies blooms. These plants rarely bloom, but when they do the flowers can be quite eye catching.

Since I was in high school I’ve had a small colony of Scadoxus multiflorus, descended from a single bulb I found growing wild in the Galay house in Kidapawan. My mother tells me my great-grandmother, the late Brigida Reyes Galay, once kept a bed of them when my mother was still a little girl. What became of that bed she couldn’t remember, but what is certain is that the plant is not common in Kidapawan, and no one else in the family likes flowers enough to have bought this bulb. In all likelihood my colony is descended from a leftover of my great-grandmother’s bed. This plant thus has a lot of sentimental value to me.

2016-05-25 17.02.40

I was overjoyed when I saw this bud coming out.

The bulb that flowered is one of the main bulb’s older offshoots (the biggest offshot right now). This is its first time to blossom, and this is the first time another bulb other than the main bulb produced a flower.

2016-05-29 17.39.45

The Main Fireball Lily, which I found growing wild in my family’s ancestral house about ten years ago. Its youngest offshoot is leafing beside – its first in two years.

The flowering comes as I move the colony bed near our garage here in Toscana. I’ve been moving the colony constantly for the past few years all over our house, but the bulbs always end up being unhealthy. That one of them bloomed this time tells me this may be where I should finally set up the colony’s bed.

Leave a Reply

