My Dumaguete Despedida Menu

When I took leave of Dumaguete I bade it goodbye with food. For all its dreadful pedicabs and horrible teachers, Dumaguete is a delicious place to be (did you possibly think I would not realize that fact?), and there was no better way to experience it for the last time in what may be a very long while than to eat the best it can offer. In spite of my figure, I happen to eat a lot, and when I was making a list of stuff I had to eat before leaving NegOr, the list unsurprisingly turned out to be long.

But each item in this Farewell Menu is worth the time, and I would recommend each one to anybody who would find themselves at this lazy foot of Mt Talinis.

On my last two weeks in Dumaguete, then, I made sure to eat for the last time, in no particular order:

1. Budbod kabog (suman made from millet), tsokolate, and puto (puti and tapol or red rice) at the Dumaguete Public Market’s Painitan

2. Humba, ginger pork, and the famous cheese bread with a glass of fresh milk at Silliman Cafeteria

3. Pritchon (lechon chunks wrapped in pitas with cucumber and leek, served with soy sauce, hoisin sauce, and sarsa), Silvanas, Red Velvet cake, and the eponymous cake at Sans Rival Bistro

4. Baye-baye (the Ilonggo version of espasol, a delicacy of Bayawan), nine pesos each, from the Dumaguete Public Market

5. Hungarian sausage and the Nutella cheesecake at Cafe Mamia

6. Anything at Rollin’ Pin (particularly the croissant and the honey tonka ice cream)

7. The sisig at Foodnet

8, Humba with coleslaw at Scooby’s (they only serve the coleslaw in the downtown branch)

9. Pospas (the Dumaguete version of Arroz caldo, containing fish), twelve pesos a steaming cup, from Silliman’ College of Nursing food vendors

10. Nilat-ang twalya (simple ox tripe soup) from the Dauin Public Market

11. Lechon de pugon (pork baked in an oven) at Neva’s Pizza

12. Callos at Sta Theresa

13. Sizzling bulalo and Choco dome cake at Royal Suite Inn

The famous Sizzling Bulalo of Royal Suite Inn

Sizzling Bulalo

Silvanas at Sans Rival

Silvanas at Sans Rival

Pritchon at Sans Rival

Pritchon at Sans Rival

Hungarian Sausage at Cafe Mamia

Hungarian Sausage at Cafe Mamia

A lunch of Humba and coleslaw at Scooby's

A lunch of Humba and coleslaw at Scooby’s

Marble cream, a pudding of two chocolates, one of the new offerings at Rollin Pin when I left. warning: you cannot eat this thing alone without being overwhelmed

Marble cream, a pudding of two chocolates, one of the new offerings at Rollin Pin when I left. Warning: you cannot eat this thing alone without being overwhelmed

On the day before I left Dumaguete, I even got to eat two delicious local specialties when the lovely Pal family – the madam, ma’am Irma, is my editor on the MetroPost –  invited me over for breakfast : spanish Chorizo bungkag (a kind of sausage served opened) and half dried danggit bulad from Bais. It was the best despedida I ever had.

Leave a Reply

