Looking forward to “In My Father’s House”

2013-07-07 10.59.40

My ticket

Silliman University is going to stage Elsa Martinez-Coscolluela’s “In My Father’s House” for the first time later this month.

This is the first time the play, the Palanca Hall of Famer playwright’s most staged work, is to be staged in its setting. The Luce Auditorium will play host to this milestone.

The staging will be very special for me, as “In My Father’s House” has an important role in my relationship with Silliman. It was through the play, which I read in the Ateneo de Davao library after meeting ma’am Elsie in Bacolod, that I first encountered Silliman. Over a year later, I would be accepted as fellow to the Silliman Writers Workshop. Upon arriving in Dumaguete my memory of the play served as my guide map around campus.

Along with the staging of the play, ma’am Elsie will also give a lecture on playwriting as part of Silliman’s Albert Faurot Lecture Series earlier on the 19th.

I am eagerly looking forward to all these events!

Leave a Reply

